Video Copyright Infringement

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mechwariorx

Hello,

I'm a currently an undergraduate college student and independent videographer. I was asked to shoot a video for a non-profit organization that wanted to show the diverse industry in the area about a year ago. I shot the video for free and I retained all ownership of the footage. The video was made up of five segments, each one showing a local business. One of the five local businesses contacted me about receiving a copy of their segment of the video. I sent them a low quality DVD in the mail and I informed them that they can use it for non-commercial use.

Recently, I found out they have downloaded the video in high definition from the hosting website I use and uploaded it on their YouTube channel almost ten months ago. I don't offer a link to download the video; they would have to use software to rip the video from the website. I have been sending emails to the company for the past seven weeks, but they seem to be brushing me off.

I know I can contact YouTube and get the video removed, but I'm looking to sell or lease the footage to the company who is currently using it. It doesn't look like they're willing to cooperate with me, so I've looking into the possibility of a lawsuit. I've read that copyright infringement falls under federal jurisdiction, but is there a way I could file a different claim in small claims court? Would a breach of contract lawsuit hold up because of our talk about using the video for non-commercial use? If they remove the video from YouTube, could I still have a case regarding the almost ten months of use and the 582 video views?

Thanks,

Eric

Nice try, but what are your damages? Besides, you gave them the video, didn't you? Did you also provide them with your copyright protections? Did you admonish them, contractually, as to how they must use the video?