Using celebrity’s name that happens to be my name

mampam

Jurisdiction
Arkansas
My name is Judy and I'm a judge. (Not the famous one….) Would there be a copyright/trademark issue if I use "Judge Judy" in a book title referring to myself?? What if I add my middle name? Even if I don't use my middle name, is it ok to call myself "Judge Judy" in print or on my website? I've researched this but I'm not a copyright lawyer, so I want to make sure. Thanks!

My name is Judy and I'm a judge. (Not the famous one….) Would there be a copyright/trademark issue if I use "Judge Judy" in a book title referring to myself?? What if I add my middle name? Even if I don't use my middle name, is it ok to call myself "Judge Judy" in print or on my website? I've researched this but I'm not a copyright lawyer, so I want to make sure. Thanks!
You're a judge and you think the best place to find your answer is on the internet?

I've researched this but I'm not a copyright lawyer, so I want to make sure.

Judge Judy made $47,000,000 per year average during her heyday and then sold her episodes to CBS for syndication for $150,000,000.

She wouldn't think twice about squashing you like a bug if you called yourself Judge Judy in a book title.

Don't do it.

If you have anything to write that's worth reading, use your full name in the title or don't use your name at all. Just pick a descriptive title and don't call yourself Judge Judy anywhere in the book.

Hardly a week goes by that we don't get the same kind of question from somebody who doesn't have a creative bone in their body and wants to make a name for themselves on the back of a celebrity.

smh