Unpaid Administrative Leave for being depressed?

F

FrustratedTeacher

Jurisdiction
Missouri
I am a teacher at a charter school in St. Louis City. We do not have contracts and we are an at-will organization. We have had several teachers resign this year because the behavior of the children is verbally and physically abusive. Many teachers including myself have had things stolen from us, been called names and racial slurs, and been physically attacked by our students. The behavior is out of control and many teachers in the building are powerless to stop it because of the lack of discipline in the building.

I was venting to a co-worker about how difficult it was becoming to manage my depression because of the constant environment in the school. Apparently one of the administrative team overheard me because Friday my head of school called me into her office, told me that the conversation had been relayed to her, and asked me if I was seeking help for my depression in the form of therapy or medication. She then said that an emotionally compromised teacher is unable to do their job and that if I am emotionally compromised I am a liability and a danger to the children. She put me on administrative leave WITHOUT PAY and mandated that I see a psychiatrist to obtain a fit to work letter.

Looking further into this over the weekend, I came to the understanding that she cannot actually mandate that I see a psychiatrist and that she has to accept either a letter from my medical doctor or my LPC if she wants a fit to work letter-- but I am wondering if it was legal for her to place me on administrative leave without pay simply for admitting that I have depression? Please help me. I know she is dancing on a legal line here but I don't know exactly where the line is. Thank you!

I suggest you start seeking new employment.
All employment is at will in this nation.
Yes, unions do have a CBA.
Some people have employment contracts.