Unfair write up leading to termination

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAYE79

I have been working at a private business since April 2007. Upon being hired I was told "If you are going to be late, let someone know. If you oversleep call as soon you wake up and let someone know you will be late or you won't be in." So in the past 3 years I have been late on numerous occasions and have called in to let them know I would be late. There was never a problem. The whole year of 2008 was a bad one for me and seems like I was almost never at work due to car problems and deaths in the family. I never got wrote up or given a verbal warning. In January of this year I started graduate school (online) and am taking 2 classes that last 8 weeks. My supervisors are aware of this. I even told them that until I got settled I may be late but my education is important to me. They told me "everything will be fine." I believed them. Until....I got wrote up for "not calling in until 6:30." and then for "tardy, didn't call in." and today "didn't call in until 6:30 a.m." My supervisor was aware of the circumstances in every situation... one being that I could not get out of my parking lot due to weather and I did call in but noone told her....one was due to oversleeping because of school work and my staying up late to complete it(my fault)...and the last one, today, was because I overslept due to having a seizure at some point on Monday night while sleeping (I have seizures that cause me to have extreme migraine headaches, make me sick, and really incapable of doing anything except being still and sometimes that doesn't help. They also leave me with no energy for 2 to 3 days.) I called in at 5:30 a.m. on Tuesday and let them know I would not be at work for this reason. On Wednesday I slept through the alarm clocks (all 4 of them) as a result of having the seizure on Monday night/Tuesday morning. I called in as soon as I woke up and let the supervisor know that I still was not feeling