unemployment

Status
Not open for further replies.

babiesrfragile

I was wondering my chances in a situation where I had been recieving unemployment for 6 months in 2007 I found a job in September of 2007 however 2 months into the job I found out they were closing the business down in a month I ended up finding another job 10 days before the business was to close. When I asked the unemployment office about my eligibility for unemployment they said I would be ineligible until February of 2008. Well, the temp job I had was done in Feb. 2008 I applied for Unemployment and the business that closed contested it and said I quit. Does anybody think I stand a chance of getting unemployment?? I have 3 children to take care of and never would have accepted the position if I new that the other company would have contested it.:confused:

What state are you in, and did you give notice or just leave and start the new job? Is the employer that is contesting still open? If they did close, how long after you left for the new employment? Have you talked with the unemployment staff about your situation?

I am in Iowa, I found out I had the position on the 29th of November and it would start the 4th of December, I told them that the 29th of November would be my last day. The business I was working for was to close on December 14th. They put that I quit on the 30th of November. The business closed down permanently December 14th 2008.

Last edited:
Quiting a job to gain better employment especially when the company is closing is should not keep you from receiving your benefits. How long were you at the job that you started Dec 4?

All you can do is apply and, if the decision goes against you, appeal. There is no penalty for being wrong.

With all due respect, it doesn't matter what we think your chances are. The state is the only one who has a vote that counts.