traffic citation

Status
Not open for further replies.

JodyR

I'm a 48 years old and never had a traffic ticket until today. I have been using the same intersection for the past seven years which has a stop sign. Being a creature of habit I proceeded to the intersection with caution made a full stop and then proceeded to make a left hand turn. After I turned there were four state troopers pulling people over and I was one of them. The police officer asked me if I saw the no left turn sign, I informed him I didn't and asked him how long it was there, He replied about three weeks. I haven't been in the area for about a month. He asked me it I saw the stop sign and I told him I have been using this intersection for years and I automatically stop from habit even if I don't actually see the sign. I thought he was going to give me a warning, instead he gave me a citation for violation #316.074. As I was sitting waiting for my $115.50 ticket to be finished, about 11 people made left hand turns and proceeded right past the state troopers without being stopped. I think the three police officers standing on the side were taking a little break. I truly feel this was entrapment and wonder if I can fight this in any way or should I just pay the ticket and and take traffic school to keep points off my insurance which costs an additional $45.00. I am allowed to go to court and fight, but if I lose the judge can make me pay more. How should I proceed

...I truly feel this was entrapment and wonder if I can fight this in any way or should I just pay the ticket and and take traffic school to keep points off my insurance which costs an additional $45.00....

Pay the ticket and take traffic school.

This is not even remotely entrapment.

Definitions of entrapment on the Web:

* A defense to criminal charges alleging that agents of the government induced a person to commit a crime he or she otherwise would not have committed.
courts.delaware.gov/How%20To/court%20proceedings/