Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft To seek attorney or not seek

Status
Not open for further replies.

jemapelle

If a Non-Traffic Ordinance Violation was issued due to retail theft and payed for - will this go on any records that employers can view? I'm 18 yrs old (from WI), never had any criminal background or even any traffic violations. If it does go on records how can I expunge it or is this even possible? I'll be the first to admit that I am guilty and it was no accident or misunderstanding, but it was genuinely dumb mistake/poor judgement and I know I'll never do it again. I'm still confused as to why I did this in the first place. I've worked my whole life to succeed, I graduated valedictorian, I was in numerous clubs/activities to which I was an officer in a few, and I volunteered probably over 100 hours in the past year. I'm going to be starting college literally in a few days and I really hope this one moment of poor judgement won't affect my future chances of getting jobs and opportunities. Should I contact an attorney/lawyer and if so which kind should I seek? I guess what I'm most conflicted about currently is should I pay the citation because I've been researching and I've heard that if I did that it will go on my record. On the other hand, I've read that instead of paying, I can go to court and try to get into diversion programs, and retail theft won't show up in my record? What are the odds that this can happen/How expensive would approximate to? Do usually only retail stores check online retail theft databases or do hospitals and schools check them also? Please help me. Thank you!

Diversion (if available) is your best option outside of aqiuittal. Start calling Attorneys and set up consultations, many offer this free. Then you can talk to a Lawyer and get the legal info you require. Based on your post alone I dont see how you wont meet diversion criteria and being able to keep this off your record