The Removal of Minority Disabilities

Status
Not open for further replies.

JessicaFord

I need more information or guidance if it is available. If not, thank you for reading.

My name is Jessie, and I'm 17 years old. I dont turn 18 until this summer. I moved out of my parents home a few months ago, and now I rent a room from my loval AVON lady. I have been working at TACO BELL for 6 months now, and I make about 700$ a month. I pay my rent, my car insurance, my cell phone, my health insurance, and any of my other needs. My parents pay nothing for me. They also have no intention of helping me go to college. I have a 4.2 GPA. I WANT to go to college more than anything. Also, I pay over half of my income just to rent this room. I really need my income to be my own. I wish I could sign a legal contract, such as a lease, so I could live in an income-based apartment, and pay less for rent. Also, I can apply for grants and scholorships based on income, that way I get most of my tuition paid for. I dont want to have to drop out of college because I cant afford it. Most good scholorships only exist if your are currently attending high school, that way you attend college the following fall semester. If I wait until I'm 18 to consider my income my own, then I wont get half of the scholorships I can get now. Also, all the money I have is used to survive. I have no savings at ALL. If I could get one of those apartments, and maybe apply for some welfare, I might be able to set up a small savings account in case I cant get all my tuition paid for. Or, God forbid, any emergency comes up.