Singled out at work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nik55b

I am a teacher in a Catholic school. I have spoken out about a few things that have concerned myself and others. In retaliation I have been singled out and am wondering if this could be labeled as harrassment. I was served a "new policy" regarding the purchase of school items. It was stated that receipts would be turned into the business office in a "timely fashion" or the money would be taken out of my paycheck. The cover letter for this document stated that the new policy would go into effect immediately. After inquiring with other staff members as to whether or not they had received the "new policy" I found out that I was the only person who was given this letter. They have already taken funds out of my paycheck without my signed permission. They did this to pay a chaparone who rode on a bus that contained my students. Can they do this? Isn't it illegal to take money out of someone's paycheck?
Another situation occured at the end of the school year. At check out time I was given a "teacher improvement plan". In the plan it was stated that I would "demonstrate a positive attitude at school, about school and in dealing with others in regard to school" that I would "use respectful language and attitudes in communications with others" and that I would "meet deadlines and expectations of administration as requested". I asked if all the other teachers were getting an "improvement plan" and was told "No, they don't need one". I believe they are trying to tell me how to walk and how to talk on the job. Can they do that? Do I have any grounds to claim harrassment?