signed new lease to start in september, still able to cancel lease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcmango

Hello, I'm a student who has leased an apartment from a landlord off campus in Ohio, Franklin County. I am renting through a 12 year lease.

I have almost completed an entire lease for 1 year, that was signed in September of 2009. This lease will end at the end of this month on August 31st, 2010. Which I have paid for entirely now.

I also signed a new lease back in march of 2010 this year. I was planning to stay but it would be ideal at this point to move out at the end of this month.

My question is, am I still able to cancel the new lease I signed in march because it has not started yet, it doesn't start until September 1st, 2010.

Many people have told me that I am not required by law to proceed with this new lease because it has not started yet, and I may be able to tell my landlord that I will not be proceeding with the new lease.

Thankyou for positive feedback to help me with this issue!

Hello, I'm a student who has leased an apartment from a landlord off campus in Ohio, Franklin County. I am renting through a 12 year lease.

I have almost completed an entire lease for 1 year, that was signed in September of 2009. This lease will end at the end of this month on August 31st, 2010. Which I have paid for entirely now.

I also signed a new lease back in march of 2010 this year. I was planning to stay but it would be ideal at this point to move out at the end of this month.

My question is, am I still able to cancel the new lease I signed in march because it has not started yet, it doesn't start until September 1st, 2010.

Many people have told me that I am not required by law to proceed with this new lease because it has not started yet, and I may be able to tell my landlord that I will not be proceeding with the new lease.

Thankyou for positive feedback to help me with this issue!

The answer my friend, is blowing in the words of your lease.