Should I tell the truth?

D

dan16150

I've got myself in a right mess over something I've said (I know I said the wrong thing), which was misunderstood by a drunk woman passenger.

I'm a taxi driver in a big city, and I've been suspended without pay because of it, the court case is looming.

I've lied a little in the statement I've made to my solicitor, she failed to find the fare, refused to use the credit card machine and refused to find a cash point, so my statement say's 'would you like to owe me instead', meaning I'd collect the fare later, she has accused me of asking for a blow job (oral sex) in her statement. What I really said was 'people have even been known to ask me for blow jobs before', I meant exactly that and didn't have any wrong intention. She took it out of context and I tried to tell her that but she flew into a drunken rage.

Should I stick with the statement or tell the truth?

The case is more complexed, she is also falsely accusing me of exposure via a blurry image of me with my hands in my lap, she says the hands are a penis, I'm confused perhaps the police (the prosecutors) have doctored this image in some way because as I'm a taxi driver the crime must be considered more serious?

You screwed up, my friend.
You should have never given a statement, at least that is what I advise my clients in the US.
If a person has given a statement and has lied, ONLY the testator KNOWS he or she has lied.
You have made a mess, and if I were you, I'd simply keep my big mouth closed.
It might be too late to help yourself, but talking more certainly wouldn't help you now.
That confession stuff, I always say, save it for your spiritual adviser, religious officiant, priest, imam, holy spirit, great father, blessed mother, or whatever is sacred to you.

You've also compromised your solicitor, or at least that's how we'd view it across the pond, mate.