Short term disability

Status
Not open for further replies.

flaviaaldira

Hi,
I've been in short term disability due to stress since February 16, 2010. I will be back to work in a week and just found out i am pregnant. I am very scared that they will fire me when i get back because i took this short term disability! Can they do that? And can they fire me even though i am pregnant?
Thanks for your attention.

New mom

How long have you worked for the employer? How many employees does the employer have within 75 miles of your location? In the 12 months between February 15, 2009 and February 15, 2010, did you work a minimum of 1,250 hours?

You cannot be fired BECAUSE you are pregnant but you can be fired IN SPITE OF being pregnant. The answers to the questions above will determine whether or not you can be fired because of the time you have recently been off.

I've been working for them since September 2007 and this is the first time that i took any type of leave. The company is a corporate with more than one thousand employees in the 75 mile ratio, maybe more. I am a full time employee working at least 40 hours per week. Totaling around 1920 hours in one year.
I hope this helps more on my situation. Thanks again

That being the case, ASSUMING that your condition qualified as a serious health condition under the FMLA statute, you cannot be fired because you took medical leave. You can find the definition of a serious health condition here: http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/posters/fmlaen.pdf