Severance pay

jason1982

Jurisdiction
Indiana
So I have been working for a company for almost 11 years that works on a government contract. My company decided to no longer work on said contract and its being transferred to a different company along with all the employees that work on the contract. We were told all benefits would remain the same and that since we have a new job to go to we would not be eligible for severance. We were told verbally all benefits would remain the same and quickly received offer letters from the new company that only verified pay was remaining the same and we only have 5 days to accept the offer. After signing the offers they then release more details on the benefit package and nothing is the same that was promised. PTO is cut in half from 6 weeks to 3. 401k match isnt as much and so on. Can a company refuse severance if they provide you a new workplace to be hired at even though the benefits are not the same?

So I have been working for a company for almost 11 years that works on a government contract. My company decided to no longer work on said contract and its being transferred to a different company along with all the employees that work on the contract. We were told all benefits would remain the same and that since we have a new job to go to we would not be eligible for severance. We were told verbally all benefits would remain the same and quickly received offer letters from the new company that only verified pay was remaining the same and we only have 5 days to accept the offer. After signing the offers they then release more details on the benefit package and nothing is the same that was promised. PTO is cut in half from 6 weeks to 3. 401k match isnt as much and so on. Can a company refuse severance if they provide you a new workplace to be hired at even though the benefits are not the same?
Yes.