Sale of route

B

backwardecho

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I think this would fall to a small business lawyer but not necessarily a contract lawyer. I do operate via contract but there are no provisions in contract about my current situation. I am a small business and am the owner and operator but I am incorporated. My corporation has a contract with fedex that is renewed annually on May 31st.. These contracts are standard and renewed unless there are major performance issues. I have been a contractor since 2003. In july 2016 I decided to retire. I listed my route for sale with a broker. Routes are bought and sold all the time, proprietary rights are in the contract, nothing unusual there lots of guys run a route for years then sale it and retire etc. The problem is about Feb 4th 2016 fedex announced a new model that will require everyone to own about 5 routes. Then at the end of Feb they announced a tentative timeline of june - dec 2017 transition will begin. It is tentative. Since this announcement I have had 2 verified cash buyers back out. Once I explain they will have to expand rapidly or merge with other routes to make scale they lose interest. I originally listed my sale price at 115k and have dropped it to 89k in feb. Basically I can't even give it away now. At end of transition fedex is offering about 5k for accepting a limited contract during transition and then when they dump me another 5k for signing a waiver saying I won't sue over this. My dilemma or position is as follows:The sale of my route should not be hindered. All other conditions of my contract will still have to be complied with, performance, vehicle specs, safety specs, operational requirements , etc. Also to meet requirements as the business grows I may have to hire more employees and rent more trucks. I hired a temporary employee for december 2015 which is typical but I have had to keep him on due to growth. Generally we don"t make a profit off temporary employees but try to break even as it can