1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Recently quit my job

Discussion in 'Termination: Firing & Resignation' started by AnikaDebeck, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. AnikaDebeck

    AnikaDebeck Law Topic Starter Guest

    Jurisdiction:
    Wisconsin
    I recently quit my job due to working 13.5 hours in one day with my first day back since my surgery and being off for 2 weeks. Well, when I quit my job my boss texted me a few days later to ask if I wanted my paycheck that would have been issued today. I cannot pay my bills or get food for myself or my animals now because my boss is withholding my check. He is making me wait until 3/11/16 when the payday is today 2/26/16. Can he legally hold my check from me for that long?
     
  2. txls

    txls Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    83

    In most states if you quit then you get your check on your next regular payday. Employers don't have to jump through special hoops when you quit. I can't say for sure about your state.
     
  3. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,660
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Trophy Points:
    113

    No. See Wisconsin Statute 109.03

    (2) Payment to discharged or resigned employees. Any employee, except a sales agent employed on a commission basis, not having a written contract for a definite period, who quits employment or who is discharged from employment shall be paid in full by no later than the date on which the employee regularly would have been paid under the employer's established payroll schedule or the date of payment required under sub. (1), whichever is earlier.

    2013 Wisconsin Statutes & Annotations :: 109. Wage payments, claims and collections. :: 109.03 When wages payable; pay orders.

    Go in and pick up your paycheck. Hand him a copy of the statute. File a wage claim with the state if he doesn't give it to you:

    Wage Payment and Collection Law
     

Share This Page