Q: is it legal to use brand names for comparison purposes only, please help : )

Status
Not open for further replies.

sazi

Hi,

I am a small business owner that sells designer inspired merchandise. None of my inventory items are replicas, nor does anything I sell contain any trademarked or copyright materials, names, fabrics, etc. Additionally, I am very clear with my customers in stating that this merchandise is not original, counterfeit, replica, etc. I make sure to emphasize to all of my customers that each item I sell is a designer inspired accessory.

I would sincerely appreciate any help with this question, as it is very important to me that I am not in violation of any laws while pursuing this small business endeavor. And as with any small startup, any free advice is considered a tremondous help due to limited funds. Thanks in advance!

My question: If I were to sell designer inspired merchandise (not knock offs, replicas, counterfeits, etc.) on a website, would it be legal to refer to the original brand names for comparison purposes only? My site would indicate each category of merchandise as "Inspired by...". Additionally, I would include a disclaimer to clearly indicate that all merchandise is not original or replica and that any reference to designer brands are simply for comparison purposes only. I would also add that my company is in no way affliated with any of the designers mentioned on the site. The disclaimer would read something to the affect of: