Previous Employer Withholding Paycheck

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheDL

So this is a bit of a long story...

I am a freelance graphic artist. For one year and three months I have been (until the 20th of July this year) working as an independantly contracted art director for a magazine in Orange County, CA. The publisher of the magazine is the owner and sole proprietor of the operation, however, his direct involvment was zero, he is a drug addict.

The face of the magazine was the editor in chief and the managing editor. The editor in chief was also a signer on the bank account. He was for all intensive purpouses my direct superior, and the guy who signed my checks.

Both of the editors, without my knowing, had been planing to walk away from the magazine. In short, they were fed with dealing with the publisher behind the scenes. The IRS is after the publisher, as well as local law enforcement, to my knowledge he is wanted on two counts of felony DUI and breaking his parole.

In the beginning of July the editor in chief told me that they were leaving the magazine, but we would work the rest of the month like usual to finish the august issue. The issue was completed as it usually was and was delivered to the printer to start the proofing process. At this time I was given my paycheck for the month of July, totaling 5,500 dollars. I deposited it into my banks ATM, which in hindsight was a huge mistake. Both the editors took their checks directly to the magazine's bank, and got cash, which they deposited into their own bank accounts.