Potential Small Claim Against Mechanic

Whale_Turds

Jurisdiction
Florida
I'll try to keep this as concise as possible. I have intermediate knowledge of auto repair and have performed several various repairs that also includes head gasket repair and performing tests to isolate misfire source(s). I am not an ASE certified mechanic. I did not attend an automotive repair school. I am self taught and have learned through others with more automotive repair knowledge than myself.

History:
Two months ago my son's car engine (50k miles) overheated. With a situation involving aluminum engines and overheating there is always concern for the possibility of a blown (breached) head gasket. After topping off the coolant system with distilled water the following symptoms occurred:
1) Coolant loss without an external leak.
2) White smoke with sweet smell from exhaust tail pipe. Coolant leaking into cylinder(s).
3) Performed a proper dry compression test and one cylinder was 70 psi lower than the others: (all within spec.). Did a wet compression test (add a couple ounces of motor oil) on same cylinder and compression did not rise. This generally indicates compression loss through leaking valve(s) as opposed to a leaking cylinder compression ring: in which case the oil would cause compression to rise.
If, the compression test revealed two adjacent cylinders low on compression that could indicate compression loss through a breached head gasket at the location between those two cylinders however, that wasn't the case according to the compression test I performed. For inquiring minds: Properly Diagnose Your Customer's Engine Problems