Posting Stories on MySpace.com

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linalover

I am an aspiring comic book writer hoping to one day open a comic book company with me as the head writer. My head is full of ideas and characters, and I'm anxoius to get them out there to the public. I was planning on posting my ideas in blog form on my MySpace page, with each blog concentrating on one character. But I'm afraid of someone steeling my ideas. So, for that longest time, I have chosen not to post up my ideas until I get them copyrighted. But then I was told that having a timestamp on my blog would be all the protection from idea theft that I need. With a time stamp, I can prove that I was the one that came up with the idea first and that the would be thief stole some of my intellectual property. Is this true or is the only true way to be protected is to only post up copyrighted character ideas. Please let me know. Thank you for your help.

Sincerely, Robert J Cuffe.

Whether thats true or I cant say but I would reframe from placing non copyright material on myspace. Show friends and family but placing this where anyone can se it could prove troublesome. Example long before Mickey Mouse Walt Disney created a chracter, Rabbit I think, called Harvey. The company he pitched Harvey to took the idea not Walt.

Just for reference my husband has created several comic characters. One is very original however he has never shown those in public areas only to friends and family. He once tried to contact DC and marvel about his ideas without saying much about them but they do not take unsolicted material.

Thank you for your response. It's as much as I suspected, but I just felt that it was taking too long to get any of my ideas copyrighted and I wanted to find out what the public thought of my ideas. Do you know about how much it costs to get character ideas copyrighted and what I would need to do so? Would I need a picture of the character? Can I do bulk copyrighting?