Police Breaking/Entering

Status
Not open for further replies.

Slybone

Hello,

I am a student at San Diego State University and I question some of the actions that SDSU PD sometimes take against individuals. For instance, tonight my friends had some people over in their apartment. The police came into the apartment complex and banged on the front door twice. We did not open the door and they walked in. I should also add that while the door was unlocked it was not open, not even cracked open. The first thing the officer told me was "I know you heard me banging on the door." I replied to him stating that I did not live there and therefore did not open the door, I also mentioned to him that he was not allowed to enter. He proceeded to tell me to "Shut the F* up and leave before I arrest you."

Was I right in stating that he is not allowed to enter the residence?
Am I legally obligated to comply with his instructions to leave the apartment, can I be arrested for not doing so even though I'm on private property?

Last edited:
It sounds to me like you and your friend need to make a complaint to this officer's chief of police and then go even higher to the President of the School. His actions are inexcusable unless he had some really strong reasons for them. I'll explain.

First, I take it you were in an apartment that is not owned by the school? If the school owns the apartment there could be something in the lease about security having certain rights to entry. I doubt it but maybe.