Please Read - Working Man's Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike46

Hello to all – I have worked at factories for over 25 years. 3 years at a non union plant and 21 years at a union plant. I can tell you that union plant offers more involvement with workers as far as representing you when you are meetings with the company and also working with the company to promote safety programs that benefit both the company and the workers. I am new to this web site but so far what I have seen is a lot of advice from people who seem to be more involved in giving you information based on there role as a company representative. The company or employer never has your best interest in mind when dealing with WC. There are too many other people involved like the WC carrier and the insurance companies not to mention the corporate lawyers who will be giving advice to your HR department or WC carrier on how to handle your case. The main goal of the Company or Employer is to get out of paying any bills or giving you a fair settlement on your WC case. They will drag out the time it takes to handle the case and hope that you get tired of waiting on a resolution or they may just deny all bills and wait you out until you can't afford to pay all the health cost you may have built up over time, then you have the health care providers calling you wanting payment also. They may low ball you with an offer just to drop the case which at this time may sound good because you may or may not be at work and need money. This gets them out of paying for the medical bills and any settlement you may be entitled to. My advice as a worker who understands what many of you may be going through is to immediately contact a WC Attorney you will offer you free consultation on your case, you can choose to talk to more than one, most WC attorneys know the laws which vary from state to state and can advise you on simple things like Do you have to treat with the company doctor, in some states you may have