penilty for title jumping

Promo2110

Jurisdiction
Iowa
I was charged with a crime after somebody title jumped a car title in Iowa. I did nothing wrong. What is the penilty for Title Jumping in Iowa? Is it a Felony?

I was charged with a crime after somebody title jumped a car title in Iowa. I did nothing wrong. What is the penilty for Title Jumping in Iowa? Is it a Felony?

I graduated from one of Iowa's two law schools a few weeks err YEARS, err decades ago! :D

If I recall correctly, I try to keep up with Iowa law, title jumping is treated as a minor offense, a citation and maximum $500 fine.

I suggest you visit a lawyer near you and ask him or her to be sure.

Usually most lawyers in Iowa, especially the rural areas will offer a free consultation to discuss your case.

You get between 15-30 minutes to ask questions and learn what could happen.

I was charged with a crime after somebody title jumped a car title in Iowa.

What crime? What code?

I did nothing wrong.

My guess is that you did not put your buyer's name on the title as transferee. So, yes, you did do something wrong, likely failing to comply with:

Certificate of title must be executed.
1. No person, except as provided in sections 321.23 and 321.45, and section 321.52, subsection 2, paragraph "b", shall sell or otherwise dispose of a registered vehicle or a vehicle subject to registration without delivering to the purchaser or transferee thereof a certificate of title with such assignment thereon as may be necessary to show title in the purchaser.

2016 Iowa Code :: Title VIII - TRANSPORTATION :: Chapter 321 - MOTOR VEHICLES AND LAW OF THE ROAD :: Section 321.67 - Certificate of title must be executed.

That section refers to 805.8A, subsection 2 for the fine:

2016 Iowa Code :: Title XVI - CRIMINAL LAW AND PROCEDURE :: Chapter 805 - CITATIONS IN LIEU OF ARREST :: Section 805.8A - Motor vehicle and transportation scheduled violations.

Which is $100 per sub-paragraph "p".