Other Criminal Charges & Offenses Passing bad checks charge after 18 years?

JennyMc68

I was currently Pulled over in Ohio or not having a license plate Light , found out I had 7 warrants or my arrest from 18 years ago, passing bad checks. I Dont remember writing them nor have i ever gotten a summons to go to court although it said i had 7 failures to appear. I was shocked. Mortified as I am a Nurse now and have never been convicted or in jail for anything and now i just got out of jail from sitting there 3 days and 500 cash bond for checks that were written over 17 years ago? is this legal? is there not a statue of limitation? I plead not guilty of course because as i said i do not remember and now have a trial set for next month? im so confused?

I was currently Pulled over in Ohio or not having a license plate Light , found out I had 7 warrants or my arrest from 18 years ago, passing bad checks. I Dont remember writing them nor have i ever gotten a summons to go to court although it said i had 7 failures to appear. I was shocked. Mortified as I am a Nurse now and have never been convicted or in jail for anything and now i just got out of jail from sitting there 3 days and 500 cash bond for checks that were written over 17 years ago? is this legal? is there not a statue of limitation? I plead not guilty of course because as i said i do not remember and now have a trial set for next month? im so confused?

This is simple.
You next appear as directed, and while you wait you HIRE a lawyer.
As a gainfully employed nurse, I suspect your income will be too high to qualify you for a public defender.
If you need more time to get the money together to hire a lawyer, simply appear as directed and when called, asked the court to be heard.
You then ask the judge to continue the matter for four to six weeks as you need more time to get the money to hire your lawyer.
In my area of the woods, a lawyer would run you about $3,000 to $5,000 to represent you.