Paid in full written on a check

Status
Not open for further replies.

hvnbnd4

I had an outstanding $600+ bill with a family law lawyer. I paid it off to $300. On the check I wrote to her, I put paid in full on the memo and also where she endorsed it. She cashed this check. She is now saying that I still owe her even tho, I did this and she cashed it. I was not satisfied with her total services, and felt that what I had already paid, way over $3000, was sufficiant for her services. Since she cashed this check, am I still liable for the balance, as she states? She says she is going to take legal action against me to collect the balance due. Thanks GR

I am not a lawyer, and this is not my area of expertise. But common sense would indicate that if your writing Paid In Full on a check obligated her to accept that as full payment, anyone could write a check for one cent, write Paid In Full on the check, and avoid paying more than one cent for their mortgage, their phone bill, their car payment etc.

If you owed her $600, then writing Paid In Full on your check for $300 does not excuse you from paying the other $300, whether she endorsed and deposited the check or not.

This is the law:
3-311. ACCORD AND SATISFACTION BY USE OF INSTRUMENT

(a) If a person against whom a claim is asserted proves that (i) that person in good faith tendered an instrument to the claimant as full satisfaction of the claim, (ii) the amount of the claim was unliquidated or subject to a bona fide dispute, and (iii) the claimant obtained payment of the instrument, the following subsections apply.

(b) Unless subsection (c) applies, the claim is discharged if the person against whom the claim is asserted proves that the instrument or an accompanying written communication contained a conspicuous statement to the effect that the instrument was tendered as full satisfaction of the claim.

(c) Subject to subsection (d), a claim is not discharged under subsection (b) if either of the following applies: