Justice System, Police, Courts Obstruction of Justice

Status
Not open for further replies.

imagerynine

An officer came in to my work where I am a department manager and asked to see an employee. I told him to wait a moment and I called for the General Manager as we are told that police inquiries should be directed to the GM. When I returned the officer asked where the employee was and I told him that the employee is on property but I have the GM coming over to speak with per company procedure. He took down my name and threatened to charge me with Obstructing Justice. I said that wasn't my intention as I am just following procedure and since he didn't want to wait for the GM asked if he had a warrant which he said he did and if I could see it which he declined and threatened me again. I went to the back to find the employee but she didn't want to come out. I went back out to talk to the officer and he was speaking with the GM and told her I was interfering with his arrest - she explained that I was just trying to follow the company policy of have the GM handle all police inquiries. We brought the employee out to him, who he arrested and did not address me further.
I know I probably didn't handle this as smoothly as possible but I have never had an issue with having a police officer speak with the GM. Normally they understand or even ask to see the manager. My question is will they come after me for obstruction or is this something, should he have found it necessary, he would have cited me for on the spot? I am worried sick and haven't been able to sleep since. Thank you.