MP3's Of My Music Found Online

Status
Not open for further replies.

dharvell

What is the name of your state? Michigan.

I am a musician who performs under the name, [null factor]. While executing an online search of my project's name, I ran across several web sites offering my CD, "Purity" for download in MP3 format. Price of download ranges from $1.65 to $2.20 for the entire recording.

All sites claim to be covered by the following clause in the Terms Of Agreement:

The availability over the Internet of the (insert web site here) materials is authorized by the license of the Russian Multimedia and Internet Society (ROMS). Under the licenses terms, (insert web site here) pays license fees for all materials downloaded from the site subject to the Law of the Russian Federation "On Copyright and Related Rights". All these materials are solely for personal use. Any further distribution, resale or broadcasting are prohibited.

Being sole license-holder of my music, I have not received any related "fees" as described in above clause, even though some of these sites have feedback from clients who say they have downloaded my music.

Performing a "whois" of all sites selling my music comes up with contact information, so finding the owners of these sites seems pretty straight forward.

Do I have any legal ground to stand on to:

1 - Sue for copyright infringments
2 - Have my music removed from these sites
3 - Recover any monies due me for sale of my material

Any information would be most appreciated.

Last edited:
This is not legal Advice!

Your Quote: "Recover any monies due me for the sale of my material.
That would be the route i would be heading for.

For Rightsholders
According to the legislation of Russian Federation, ROMS is entitled and obliged to operate in the name and in the interests of absolutely all rightsholders, both Russian and foreign.