movie copyright infringement

Status
Not open for further replies.

movieproducer

California

I am an independent movie producer who found one person listing my DVD on several websites without being licensed to do so.

I track the person down and sent them and the websites an email stating that this person was violating my copyrights and the website owners cooperated and the listing were removed.

This person was trying to sell my DVD (new) for 4 times what my licensed sellers sell theirs, and there are no records that this person, his company or anyone at his address every purchase any copies of my DVD.

It is possible that I was able to stop any sales from occurring but I feel I should be compensated in some way for his intent to sell without being authorized to do so and he listed it on several websites. He is a middle age man who has been selling on ebay, amazon and other Internet places since 2000 and he has a catalog of over four thousand titles.

Should I pursue a lawsuit? Or should I request a $$ settlement from him to avoid a lawsuit?

"Intent to sell" is not actionable, as far as I know.

Are these illegally-manufactured copies of your movie? If not, he wasn't breaching your copyright. Someone who purchases a copy of a work is allowed to resell the copy.

He may have been in breach of your licensing agreement. Look to your agreement to see what your rights are.

Even if he did breach one or the other, what remedy do you hope to achieve? You won't get anything substantial unless you can show that his illegal offering damaged your sales through legitimate channels.

I agree that the primary measure of recovery of actual damages is based upon the extent to which the market value of the copyrighted work has been injured or destroyed by the infringement. Very often, proof of actual damages is very difficult.