Mother died, what next?

Layci

Jurisdiction
Florida
My mom just died. She was unmarried. We have a medium sized family but my brother and I have been established as next of kin, but my grandparents are acting weird when it comes to talking about what happens to her bank accounts, her home (paid off), and her vehicle.

I was told since the land my moms home is on is in my Grandfathers name, the home that is paid off and in my mother's name, goes to my Grandfather. She also has a paid off vehicle, and bank accounts (not rich, but she would want to leave me and my brother with something). She didn't have life insurance, she didn't have a will.

I was also told when it comes down to who takes possession of the vehicle or home, it's basically whoever gets to the tag agency first (between me and my grandfather, my brother is uninterested in doing any of this), I would like clarification on all of this if someone could help me, because I have never done this before.

Nothing automatically goes to anyone.
It sounds as if you are unfamiliar with probate. Contact a probate attorney or at least research the process to get an idea of what should be taking place.

Please accept my condolences upon the passing of your mother.

Allow yourself a little time to absorb her passing, before you become too embroiled over her assets.

Once you're ready, I suggest you meet with your siblings to decide how you wish to proceed.

=======================================================

Here is what will happen if the deceased person is survived by a spouse and/or descendants (children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, etc.):

Survived by a spouse and descendants, all of whom are descendants of the spouse, and the surviving spouse has no other descendants:

In this case, the surviving spouse will inherit 100% of the deceased person's probate estate.