Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Minor in possesion of alcohol, 18 years old

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denys

Hello, I've recently got a minor in possession ticket in Santa Clara county:mad:. Cop gave me a ticket for drinking beer on the street at approximately 10-11 p.m. He took my photo and my fingerprints. I had a car at that time, but I wasn't driving it was parked o the street. Cop took all the information about the car and asked my friend to drive me that night so I don't get a DUI as well. But as I mentioned, he marked my ticket as traffic of on the top, and he circled misdemeanor versus infraction down below. My court date is scheduled on June 14 in Palo Alto, CA, which is my birthday as well, I'm turning 19. I've read that I possibly might loose my driver license for a year. That would be a really bad for me, since I'm a full time student, also I work part time as a delivery driver. Would that be enough evidences for a judge, so I don't get my license suspended because of the need to drive? Also I was thinking to propose by myself to take alcohol classes such as AA just not to loose my license? Is that possible to take some sort of AA classes and have a clean record? If so, how and what should I say? Should I play guilty, non guilty, no contest? I had a speeding ticket earlier and my license was suspended for a month, no serious citations, will that somehow affect my position? Should I hire a lawyer, I'm pretty broke right now, and I'm not sure I can afford that, but if this will be urgent and I will have some sort of guarantee I would agree. Thank you for your cooperation

There are no guarantees, even if you hire a lawyer.

Taking an alcohol awareness class will be helpful.

You'll possibly lose your license again, as this was a traffic offense, according to your post.

You'll be ordered to do community service, fines/costs, and probation.

You might even be ordered to have an alcohol monitor installed on your car.