last paycheck withheld

Status
Not open for further replies.

Swissmiss

Here's the deal:
I have been working for a security company for 5 years. 11 days ago I terminated that employment. Since I was enrolled in the Company's automatic payroll deposit program I waited for my check to be deposit. That never happend. After contacting my ex company about this, that told me I have to come into the office and pick it up, sign some forms and turn in my uniforms ( for which I deposit $100 at the beginning of employment), which is impossible to me due to my new long workhours.
I also contacted the main office of the company about that, only to hear that this is Companies Policy.
I looked up California Labor Law and it says that my final check is due within 74 hours of termination and has to be mailed to me , if adress is provided.
I am a little confused now. Since my Ex Company told me that they are within their legal rights. Please Help!!!:confused:

What "legal" right did they assert and what law are you citing? Did you sign an employment agreement?

You need to identify what "paperwork" you need to complete that is preventing you from receiving what is rightfully yours. Apparently they have issued you a uniform amongst potentially other company assets which they would want returned and which typically are not returned by those who leave the company. Why didn't they give you the paperwork on the day of termination or sent it to you overnight?