Other Criminal Charges & Offenses Lab fraud

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chemguy

Jurisdiction
Vermont
I don't seen any threads about fraud at labs. I am a chemist and last year I had a supervisor who told me to run an ion chromatographer in a way that would not work for nitrite analysis in drinking water. Low levels would not be visible because of interference from carbonate at the eluent setting she wanted. I told her boss, the program chief, who ignored the issue. I then ran some standards to prove my point and was going to show it to the chief the next day, but I came down with the worst flu I ever had and could not go to work for a week. If the chief had continued ignoring the issue my plan was to not report nitrite results and to put an attachment on the results saying the nitrite could not be reported due to instrument configuration.

When I got back I found my coworker had been following orders and reported the bad results. I asked another chemist and he suggested going over the program chief to the QA manager, but I didn't want yo do that yet. Instead the coworker who reported the bad results agreed to approach the chief and show her the results from the standards I ran. The chief then saw the problem and ordered me to put the instrument settings back ti where it could see the nitrites. I thought she would order amended reports be sent out to customers who got the bad results but that didn't happen. Instead I got called into a meeting with my supervisor and she threatened to have to fired for disobeying her. I stood my ground and said I couldn't obey orders to commit lab fraud. She scoffed and said ethics are arbitrary. After that meting I reported everything to the QA manager and she said there would be an ethics investigation.