Is There A Checklist?

Jurisdiction
California
An elderly family member in California has designated me to be the executor of her estate. I live thousands of miles away in a different state. I have no idea what the duties or responsibilities of an executor are and I've never done anything like that before. Is there a checklist or a class I can take in advance on-line or something else that can help me learn what I need to do to carry out her wishes and close out her affairs in an orderly manner when the time comes?

I have no idea what the duties or responsibilities of an executor are and I've never done anything like that before.

The fact that you reside THOUSANDS of miles away from your relative's domicile should be reason enough for you to politely decline her offer. Another reason to decline is that you admit to having no knowledge of what accepting her offer entails.

However, if you persist in saying yes, read this:

How Does One Become An "Executor?"

1. The Executor is normally nominated in the Will but it is the court who formally appoints the Executor after a noticed hearing.

2. If no Executor is nominated in the Will, the court appoints an "Administrator" who performs the same function, usually a relative.

3. Once appointed by the court, the Executor assumes the powers and fiduciary duties necessary to comply with both the terms of the Will and the legal requirements imposed by the State.

4. The Executor can resign by a specified process and another Executor be appointed by the Court. Normally, the Will will mention successor Executors in the event one or more do not want to serve or become incapable of serving. The fiduciary duty remains until discharged by the court.

5. More than one Executor can be appointed but each is jointly and severally liable to perform the requisite duties to the Estate-one must be sure that the other performs adequately.