Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Intl student Minor in Possession

Status
Not open for further replies.

lejjvi

Hi.

I am an international student from Sweden. I'm currently a full time student at Santa Barbara City College, and I'm planning on staying here at least until I get my Masters degree.

Yesterday, I went to a Isla Vista, which is notorious for college students partying and I was caught by the foot-patrol with 3 closed beer cans. As I am an international student, all I had with me was my Swedish drivers license and my student ID card. I am turning 19 and turning 20 this year, so I am "a minor".

On the ticket they wrote "age: 20" for some reason. 256629 Minor in possession of alcohol and its considered misdemeanor. I don't have an American drivers license.

Never had a ticket or been arrested or had something to do with the cops in my entire life.

Now, to the questions:
1. How much are these tickets on?

2. Is there any way I could pay it of with community service, since every penny I get from my student loan, goes to the international tuition, rent and food.

3. Can I get deported?

4. Will this appear on my record if I want to take a drivers license in the future?

5. Do I really need a lawyer for this, and in that case, how much will it cost?

6. Will this appear on my school records. e.g. When I chose to transfer.

7. And what tips do you have for me, both before court and on during the hearing.

I am an international student, so please be detailed since I know (almost) nothing about the American law system.

Thank you in advance!

Hire a lawyer.
Contact your family and see if they can help you, if you need money b
If they're as broke as you say you are, ask the court to appoint one for you.

Stop talking about this, until you've spoken with a lawyer.

It could affect your immigration status, eventually.

Your lawyer will advise you about that. If he/she doesn't, ask him/her what to do.