Indemnity paragraph/clause

RickoRicko

Hi,
I am an engineer so apologies in advance if the question is stupid and/or in the wrong forum.

I am looking for clarification, pointers or suggestions on this paragraph, especially the second part about indemnifying (highlighted).

"By this Agreement, and conditional on the transfer of the IP and delivery of the Deliverables, the Parties release each other from any and all claims, causes of action, demands and liabilities of whatever nature which either Party had in the past, has now or may have in the future arising from or related to the Contract.
The Parties further release and indemnify each other from any and all claims, causes of action, demands and liabilities of whatever nature which may arise from either Party's obligation to any and all third parties under the Contract."

1. What does it mean?

2. If I sign a document containing that, can it backfire in any way? Can it make me liable in any way?

3. If yes, what reason, excuse or example can I provide to my client to remove it from the document?

Just to provide the full picture...

I have done engineering design work for a client for a small amount of money and in order to get paid they insist I sign a release contract to give them all IP and design items. They have been misleading with words in correspondence in the past to get lots of extra work for free so I want to be extra cautious with anything I sign.

Thank you in advance
Rick

If you don't understand a document you are asked to sign, take the ENTIRE document to an attorney you've retained to read the document.

Once the attorney has reviewed the document ask her/him to review it with you, or provide you with a written interpretation apprising you of the consequences arising from signing the document.

Army Judge has given you good advice and I don't disagree.