Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft i need help, please help me

Status
Not open for further replies.

patria

i was arrested December 2009 for shoplift for 500 in new york city, im a resident since march 2009, i never been arrested before. my attorney talked to the DA and they offering me to plead guilty for class a misdemeanor with 10 days community service and 200 dollars fine with the option to come back to court and plead guilty for disorderly conduct and get the criminal charges drop after completion of the community service. please advice me in this situation i want to make sure my lawyer is getting the best deal for me with the da because i am afraid of my permanent resident status.

It Depends!

This does not make any sense at all and I think you have misunderstood the information given by your attorney completely and you should check back with him for clarification.

First of all, you cannot be made to plead guilty twice for the same crime and there is no ands, ifs, or buts about it, so you will either plead guilty to a charge of Petit Larceny or to Disorderly Conduct, and that is it. There is no going back to court a second time on the same charge.

Also, whether you do10 days of community service or 100 days, and are ordered to pay a fine of $10,000 instead of $200, the criminal charge against you will not be dropped; it is a legally and procedurally not possible. It is possible however to have the record expunged but that cannot happen either until completion of the probation period which you are going to be placed on by the court, and the period of probation for a Class A misdemeanor in New York happens to be 3 years long.