I grabbed an employee by the arm , will Ibe fired?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pelebella1969

I am a manager, managing hourly minimum wage staff. Our ofic has polcy in which cell phones are not allowed at desks due to excessive texting and low productivity. One of the employees was texting, when I went to her desk to tell her to put the celphone away in the drawer, she opened the drawer in a very aggresive manner and slammed shut as hard as she could. It startled me and as an involuntary reflex reaction I reached out and grabbed her forearm and squeezed it and then let go it lasted about 1-second. The question is am I going to get fired? I am a male 5'11" 175lbs , she is a female 5'11" about 190lbs. I did not scream or raise my voice when this happened.

After the incident I spoke to the employee and she told me she is have severe personal isues at home which is why she was so angry, she apologized and I apoogized and we both went back to work. My concern is that she will report me to my supervisor in the morning, put me in a negative light and have me fired for grabbing her arm. What should I do? should I notify my supervisor first thing in the morning?

We cannot predict what your employer will or won't do - although if it was me, you wouldn't have a job. You can't go grabbing people like that - you can't even claim self defense.

Wait until your supervisor speaks up about it.

Thank you CBG, why woould it be a legal firing? does that mean that I lose my accumulated vacation time and am not eligible for unemploment benefits?

Thank you for your responses, like I said I didn't mean to grab her arm, she slammed the desk drawer, I was sanding aout 3-feet away and it startled me and I did it as an involuntary reaction. I'm not claiming self defense, bu I reacted the same way I would react if I dropped an object, I would involuntarily try to catch it as a reflex reaction. Does the law not make a difference?