Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication How can I get an open container ticket dismissed (San Diego, CA)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgmcoin

I was walking with friends on a sidewalk in San Diego, CA last night with a half full bottle of miller light. We were not breaking any laws or stumbling and we were just going to the car to go home (the driver was sober).

A police car pulled up out of nowhere and shined his light on us. He and his partner got out of the car and said "you in the hat, give me the beer I already saw it." I was shocked because I was hiding it at my side. I was polite and cooperated with the officer who gave me a ticket for an open container. Apparently its just an infraction punishable by a fine up to $250.

I am hoping I can get the ticket dismissed because I'm a student and I don't have money for this kind of thing. I have no prior offenses.

What is my best chance to get this dismissed? I was thinking that I could say that the officer had no probable cause to stop us because we were just walking along the sidewalk legally. In the dark at 11:30 PM it would be impossible to tell what kind of bottle I was carrying (root beer, soda, anything!) I don't think carrying a bottle justifies "reasonable suspicion" that a crime has or was taking place. Would this work?

You won't get it dismissed because you don't have the money. Nobody cares about that. They will likely accept a payment plan.

As you describe it I expect your chances for dismissal are near zero. The officer's contact with you was not unlawful. It is very possible the officer had no idea what you were holding and duped you into admitting you had alcohol.

Expect to pay the fine.

Part (c) of 25620 BP states that you are allowed to possess an open container for the purpose of recycling or other similar activity. If I argue that I found it and was going to recycle it do you think I can get it dismissed?