Hostile work environment

E

Eric221

Jurisdiction
New York
I have been working for a very large financial firm for the past 6 years. I always get all my work assignments completed and my annual year-end reviews have always been good with the exception of last year. Last year, I got penalized on my year end review for not verbally communicating with a specific team member (who has previously yelled at me) and for being late to work even though all the work objectives in my review were completed. I have a need for flexible work hours as I have 2 kids that I take to school and day care every morning and when my daughter was born 3 years ago I verbally told my manager that I can work 10am-6pm. Our team did not have set hours so it was not an issue and there have been times when I needed to log into work from home after work hours which was something I was always open to. Over the years I have noticed that my manager rewards social people more than hard working people. I have never been promoted while I have seen team members promoted twice while being with the firm less time than I. I was told many times that I need to socialize more and attend social events.