Hostile work environment, retaliation for filing complaint and discrimination

Jurisdiction
California
Hi,

I am not sure if the issues I am having with my employer, a community college, break any policies or laws. Here is what has happened:

I am an adjunct professor. I am new to this school having started in March of this year. at the beginning of this semester my boss informed me that students from all classes were coming to her with concerns about my teaching. I spoke to her regarding this and i owned my part, took suggestions made adjustments. I tried every single thing available to get through to the students, but i have come to the conclusion that most of them do not have the basic high school competency skills.

My boss never wanted to hear my side of story, she believed the students and create a hostile work environment. I discovered that she was speaking to students about me asking if there was something wrong with my teaching.

In my meeting with her she threatened that she could fire me or choose to work with me, but she had no follow through on any assistance that she offered. I also shared with her a recent medical diagnosis that has caused me great anxiety and depression. She did not ask what accommodations I needed so i was not aware that any could be made. This supervisor also framed any potential accommodations were being done as a favor.

I made a complaint against her through email and as soon as this happened the work environment became more hostile. Students were even more rude and difficult to manage. I left a class due to a panic attack and the president called me and said the only option is a medical sub for the rest of the contract. I was forced to leave and now they want to dock my pay. I already have appointments for courses next semester, but imagine those will be pulled.

(Phone number removed to protect your privacy.)

Last edited by a moderator: