Harrasment What Should I Do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SHANNON0277

I work for a school district in the special education department. I am a tech and work with 1 teacher and 2 other techs. I have been there for almost 2 years. Last year I was told that I was doing a fantastic job, But this year I cant do anything right. I go in every morning and act all happy and positive but the 1 teacher and 2 techs ignore me and when they do talk to me it is to tell me that I am doing everything wrong and that I should be doing it this way instead of that way. Then about a month ago I had a meeting with the head of the Human Resource Department he told me that I have been reported for manhandling the children which I know that I have never or would never do. I know for a fact that the 1 teacher and the 2 techs that I work with did make the false statement. I have tried to work with them but the longer I am there the worse they treat me. I have tried to transfer but because of the false report they made against me I cant move. My question is Is there anything I can do about this legally?

My question is Is there anything I can do about this legally? Only if the reason you are being treated this way is because of your membership in a protected class: race, gender, religion, national origin, handicap, age if over 40, etc. I assume that's not the case or else you would have mentioned it in your post.

If your co-workers are giving you the cold shoulder or have made a complaint about you for any other reason, that is not illegal. As an aside, you might try talking with the other teacher and in a completely non-confrontational way ask if there's some reason why the two of you can't be on pleasant terms. The bottom line though is that there aren't any laws that require your co-workers to be nice to you.

Harassment what should I do