Getting my father's house in my name??

ksh21

Jurisdiction
Texas
I need to know how I can get my father's house legally put in my name, as in I own the house. My father has been dead for 15 years, my mother died just this past year, but the house is still in his name. I was told the other heirs would have to be contacted. But A)most of them I have not seen or spoken to in over 20 years. B)I lived in the house my entire life I feel I have more right to it. My father's other children didn't even speak to him anymore. and C) The one person I had talked to about getting the house threatened me if I tried to pursue it.

I'm a college student so I can't afford a lawyer, but this house was my grandmother's since the 50s and I really want to keep it in the family and have things go fairly. And my entire family pretty much has disowned me...they are not the best people. I don't know what to do.

I need to know how I can get my father's house legally put in my name, as in I own the house. My father has been dead for 15 years, my mother died just this past year, but the house is still in his name. I was told the other heirs would have to be contacted. But A)most of them I have not seen or spoken to in over 20 years. B)I lived in the house my entire life I feel I have more right to it. My father's other children didn't even speak to him anymore. and C) The one person I had talked to about getting the house threatened me if I tried to pursue it.

I'm a college student so I can't afford a lawyer, but this house was my grandmother's since the 50s and I really want to keep it in the family and have things go fairly. And my entire family pretty much has disowned me...they are not the best people. I don't know what to do.

If your mother died intestate, you can't just inherit the home alone.

The home legally passes to you and your siblings.

If one sibling wants to sell the home, the court will force its sale.