FMLA - Panic Attacks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bonzi

I have had ongoing issues with long-term (over 2 days) travel for my job. I am an Account Manager with a number of clients around the USA. I have advised my supervisor, and now asked for intermittent FMLA while I work through therapy and adjustment of medications to assist me. I'm concerned my employer (of almost 10 years) will terminate me at any time, as my leave would be intermittent. Because travel is a part of my job, is it reasonable for me to request the use of teleconferencing, etc while I work though this? Also, should I not travel until I am fully confident I will be able to make a long trip, thereby not disappointing a client, or myself from failure? I've missed a very important company meeting, and I'm naturally nervous (actually the stress from this exacerbates my anxiety). I very much like my job, and the company I work for. I just need some time to work through this. Any insight would be appreciated. Thank you.

This would be up to your employer.
Some employers are more caring that others when it comes to using FMLA.
They allow it, but in its without pay, so what's the point?
Ask these specific questions of yoru HR Department as to how its implemented in your organization.
One size does not fit all.

I think you may be confusing FMLA with ADA accomodations. They are not the same thing, and the eligibilty criteria are not the same either.

FMLA is unpaid leave. If you, the employer, and the medical condition all qualify (and a doctor will confirm that you have a "serious health condition" as defined by the FMLA statute), you are entitled to up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave which can be taken either in a block or intermittantly. You CANNOT legally be fired for using FMLA as long as you do not exceed 12 weeks; your employer CANNOT deny the use of FMLA if all the criteria are met. The only accomodation under FMLA is that the employer has to allow you to take it.