Fluke accident by a careless maintenance man of an apartment complex

Status
Not open for further replies.

corey2444

I am a locksmith who had a job at an apartment complex to unlock a car. When arriving at the only entrance to the complex I called the customer. He happened to be 20 yards ahead of me and waved me down. There was a maintenance man who switches the auto/sliding gate off during the day and on at night. He just so happen to be switching the gate on when I arrived where I stopped for a second in the path of the gate. When he switched it on he must have thought the gate would not to close when a vehicle is parked in the path of the sensor. The gate had a 3" bolt sticking out that secures the chain to the frame of the gate. When the gate started to shut I moved my natural reaction was to move and trip the sensor. The gate did not retract and chewed a gash from the front of the sliding door all the way to the wheel-well of my 2011 Chevy Express van. There are 4 witnesses to the accident that heard the gate damaging my van, and witnessed the maintenance man say he turned it on. He did not speak English very well but another person who speaks English and Spanish was translating that he made a mistake by turning it on. He walked off and the person translating told me his first name and apartment number where he lives.

I called the cops (because it's common knowledge you are suppose to report an auto accident). I sat there for 2 1/2 frikin hours and a cop finally calls me and tells me there's nothing he can do since it's not a crime and it happened on private property.