first time under arrest

Status
Not open for further replies.

lawandorder62

Hello, I was arrested for not stopping right away when the sheriff turn the flashing lights on,(refusing arrest),I was not speeding or doing anything wrong,but I took long to stop,because I was looking for a safe place to park and he did not allow me to explain anything. at gun point he toll me to laid on the ground and that I was refusing to arrest. It is county road,it was dark allready.I spent the weekend plu 500 dllrs.150 for bond and 350 for inpound of my truck.It is my first time,I have a clean record.I am waiting for the indictment, on Jan 4,2010. what can I do to clear this matter.

Get an attorney. If the circumstances are truly as you explain them here then you will probably not have anything to worry about and can hold the agency responsible for your tow fees and maybe even other costs if it is found to be a bad arrest.
You are not required to pull over immediately. There is nothing wrong with looking for a safe place to stop.... however you shouldn't drive another 5 miles looking for a place...

Personally, if the scenario unfolded as I am imagining it, I would be looking to make heads roll. It sounds like an awful arrest.

Thanks, I have been asking araund and everyone tells me the same thing,but is my first time and I worry,because is a criminal ofense and do not know how to defend myself.

How far did you travel from the point he activated his overhead lights until you yielded? How much time transpired?

What kind of "safe place" were you looking for?

I'm also wondering... if you weren't speeding or doing anything else wrong, why was the officer stopping you to begin with? Did you receive a traffic citation?