falsely accused of theft then terminated

Status
Not open for further replies.

gjanamarie

Hello, I had been working at my job for 2.5 years. I had been promoted and scored excellent on all of my performance reviews. On Tuesday morning I was called into the office where I was met by a loss prevention associate from another store. He began by asking me what my home address was and then went on to ask about my length with the co. He then started telling me about cashiers who appear to scan things but really don't, asked me what i like to do in me free time...do i like to purses? do i collect anything? he then wanted me to pretend i was a business owner confronting two lazy employees. did i want a cooperative one or one who was combative? i said i guess i would want the cooperative one. Ok, at this time i still don't know exactly why i'm there. He was asking my previous address in another state and if i lived there still. he started telling me about how hard times are with christmas coming. He then asks me where an item is. I said what item. he said the item you stole. I said i didn't steal said item. then he asks me if i remember october 16th? I went to look at a calender and he says it was a sunday(which it wasn't) you worked that day you left for the day at 3 pm. I said no i didn't i work 11 to 8 on sundays i didn't leave for the day at three. he said to stop lying and just admit it and that i could pay restitution. i said i wasnt going to admit it or pay restitution for something i didn't do. he said i have you on tape stealing this item. i said no you don't i didn't take said item. i then said can i see this tape he said no, i don't have to show it to you. this went on for about an hour he kept telling me to save myself and just admit i took it. i told him i would not because i didn't do it. by now he has already started raising his voice, leaning into me and leaving the room each time he comes back he is more irate than the last. now he takes a piece of paper ou