Facebook Post

Furious

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I am losing my job over a facebook post about Michelle Obama. I have been a teacher for 27+ years and has nothing to do with my job performance.

I am losing my job as a teacher over a personal comment that I made on Facebook that has nothing to do with my job performance.

Last edited by a moderator:
And what does your union say about this? Surely you've contacted your union rep?

I am losing my job over a facebook post about Michelle Obama. I have been a teacher for 27+ years and has nothing to do with my job performance.

I am losing my job as a teacher over a personal comment that I made on Facebook that has nothing to do with my job performance.

You just might want to see if your union can refer you to a lawyer.

Otherwise, I encourage to discuss your dilemma with two or three local attorneys.

These days, never create any social media account that ties to your TRUE identity.

In recent years many, many people have been fired for something they wrote on social media that has nothing to do with their jobs. Nothing wrong or illegal about the boss getting ticked off at something he didn't like.

However, as a teacher, whether what you said is sufficient cause to get you fired depends on the terms and conditions of your teaching contract.

If you have a teaching contract, read it and tell us what it says about cause.

If you have a teaching contract and are a member of a union get your union rep involved.

If you don't have a teaching contract and aren't in a union, then you are out of luck.

In the future if you don't have anything nice to say online don't say anything, especially if there is even the slightest chance that somebody might be able to identify you.

In at will employment you can be terminated at any time for any reason except for a reason prohibited by law such as religion, gender, race.........or unless you have a CBA or other employment contract to the contrary.