Eviction notice

L

lifesux234

Jurisdiction
Kentucky
Okay so I did not pay my rent for the past 2 months (I'm a dumb college student) and I got a call from my apartment complex saying they were handing out eviction notices that day, it was a Monday. I was very confused as she did not give me very much detail and said she went ahead and filed for eviction and added costs to my account. I then got my notice and there were 3 options on it, either to pay the balance, surrender possession of the apartment or go to eviction court.. I surrendered my keys and everything to them but still got a court date in the mail and am expected to pay the remainder of my lease. I have no job and no way to pay and I'm not sure if I still need to go to court since I did surrender. Please help!

Yes, you still need to go to court and defend yourself against the amount that the landlord claims that you owe.

Otherwise you'll end up with a default judgment against you for thousands of dollars.

I suggest you contact legal aid or a tenants rights organization in your city and see about getting some help on how to handle this.

Meantime, here's some basic information:

Kentucky Eviction

The mere filing of an eviction has severe consequences that can impact your life negatively for decades.

Most people eventually understand how an evictin impacts your FICO score.

What Happens To Your Credit When You Get Evicted? | Credit.com

It's important to know that just receiving an eviction notice isn't what puts it on your credit report. An unlawful detainer must be filed in court. The property manager has to obtain an eviction judgment from local small claims or civil court.

Once the judge has ruled in favor of the property manager and the judgment is final, the three major credit bureaus will receive notices of the eviction and add it to the your credit report in the form of a public record.