Emergency - Quitting School and Family Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

xinlin

Hi, I am a 17 year old student in New Jersey, and I'm in an emergency right now.

I joined a dance troupe in February where I have been training for a huge cultural event (shows.ntdtv.com). This volunteer project has shows at Radio City Music Hall in Manhattan as well as in 26 other cities in the world. I will be touring the world as part of this committment. This is such a once in a lifetime opportunity that I cannot give up.

Right now, due to an intense need for rehearsals, I have to be at the dance studio on a full-time basis.. which naturally, conflicts with school.

I've tried talking to my high school to ask for some way to manage both dance and school simultaneously, but they say legally, they are unable to arrange something for me. Since I cannot give up dance (it has become my life), I have no choice now but to quit school. In New Jersey, I am legally allowed to quit school at age 16 with parental consent.

My mom is very supportive of me, because she believes that it is my decision. The only problem right now is my dad. He is completely against me quitting school to dance. Ever since I first began speaking to him about this, he has refused to listen, yelling at me and hitting me. He even hit my mom when she tried to speak on my behalf.

I have to be at dance by tomorrow because time is really running short. When I told my dad my final decision today, he started yelling again. He screamed at me that if I dare go tomorrow, he will call the police and have them bring me back. I told him that this is life and death for me.. without dance, there's no meaning in my life.. He said that if I killed myself he wouldn't care, but that there was no way he would agree to let me go.

I really don't know what to do. He doesn't care about me at all, doesn't care about my feelings.