Premises Liability Does my job have the right to make me pay for a car accident

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gues

To make a long story short, I work for an autonation owned dealer. I am a technician so I am required to road test cars to verify repairs. about 2 years ago, I was road testing a car through a business district when another car backed out and I swerved to avoid getting hit but the car ended up damaging the side of the vehicle. there was no police report involved but the dealer told me I had to pay the $4500 for the damage or get fired. Plus they said since there was no police report that they couldn't file an insurance claim. I signed and payed the money as I didn't want to lose my job. later I spoke to the dealers insurance company who did tell me they could of dealt with it with no police report. Now since this incident, both the general manager and service director have been fired over illegal business practices and I am wondering if what the dealer did was correct in forcing me to pay or is their any law that protects me for this. The dealer always says that there deductible is over $10,000 and seem to use that as an escuse to force employees to pay. What options do I have here. I have tried to contact lawyers but am told that what they did was wrong but since I already paid for it there is nothing they can do.

The FL lawyers who've given you advice know of what they speak. Heed their collective counsel and wisdom. Your fate was sealed long ago and far away.

We have no reason to second-guess the lawyers you've spoken with, and you've most likely waited too long to do anything about it anyway.

The thing is if the lawyers can't do anything, there is not anything more we can tell you/do for you. Sorry.

my question is, is what the dealer did to me correct? If there is nothing that the lawyers can do then that is fine but I want to know if what they did was correct??? what could have been done at that time?