Divorcing mom trying to sell her and my dad's house that I paid for

Status
Not open for further replies.

ERjunior

I hope someone can help me with this unique question. My mom and dad both own a house, but I've been paying for their mortgage for 15 years. The last 4 years the mortgage was overdue for late payments and I'm barely trying to pay it off, while they haven't even tried. Now they are divorcing and my mom wants to sell the house. I don't agree with her decision to sell the house that I paid for, especially when she hasn't lent a dime. Neither has my dad. What I want is to claim the property from them, or get the profits if it's going to be sold, plus interest. I heard there is a form I can file to involve myself in their divorce case and make a claim. I can't find such thing for my county. I tried contacting the mortgage company and each time they were clueless as to how I can claim rights over the property. Is there anything I can do to make sure I keep either the property, or profit?

The monies you've expended on their behalf, absent a specific WRITTEN contract between you and them, will be considered gifts.
You have no legal basis on which to form a claim for ownership interests in their home.
Their names are on deed. Yours apparently isn't.
I see no path to prosperity or redemption for you without a written contract.

Mom and dad can do whatever they wish to do with THEIR home, if the lender approves.

The monies you've expended on their behalf, absent a specific WRITTEN contract between you and them, will be considered gifts.
You have no legal basis on which to form a claim for ownership interests in their home.
Their names are on deed. Yours apparently isn't.
I see no path to prosperity or redemption for you without a written contract.

Mom and dad can do whatever they wish to do with THEIR home, if the lender approves.